‘Café Terrace at Night’ by Vincent Van Gogh and by me

original
Original painting. Van Gogh ‘Cafe Terrace at Night’. Oil on canvas, 81 x 65 cm.

This beautiful and magical painting is one of my favorite art works from Van Gogh and even from all painters. It stands out as one of the painter’s  most remarkable works.

About painting

The Café Terrace is set in Place du Forum Arles, France and made in 1888. It’s painted on the street at night and using contrasting colors and tones, Van Gogh achieved a luminous surface that pulses with an interior light, almost in defiance of the darkening sky. The lines of composition all point to the center of the work drawing the eye along the pavement as if the viewer is strolling the cobblestone streets. Bright colors and brushstrokes makes the painting in Post-Impressionism style, which appears in most of Van Gogh’s paintings. Describing this painting in a letter to his sister he wrote, “Here you have a night painting without black, with nothing but beautiful blue and violet and green and in this surrounding the illuminated area colors itself sulfur pale yellow and citron green. It amuses me enormously to paint the night right on the spot…”  (using content from www.theartstory.org

My opinion

I love this painting because of it’s brightness and the color play – how the blue and yellow tones reflects on the pavement and highlighted terrace from where all night scene looks so bright. The atmosphere in painting is a night that is alive and peaceful at the same time, I think. People are just walking or sitting and enjoying a beautiful night under starry sky. Warm and cool tones matches together perfectly and makes the painting magical. Details are drawn with light brush strokes but are defined and shows painting style.

If I could get painting’s original I would be so happy, but I know it’s impossible because it is in the Kröller-Muller Museum in Otterlo, Netherlands.

So I made a copy of it.

2017-01-04-01.38.04-1.jpg.jpg
My copy of Van Gogh’s ‘Cafe Terrace at Night’. Oil on canvas, 80 x 60 cm.

It’s almost identical, but not that edgy like original. But I loved to work for this painting, this just gives me so much joy and I’m happy that I made it! I have inspiration and I will try to make more something like this and something my own. 🙂

P.S. I don’t know if it’s fully complete, because more I stare at it and at original, more I start to think what else I need to correct and fix.

Leave a Reply

